So I had absolutely no idea what to write about here, being that the only things that have been on my mind recently have been Buddhism, heartbreak, and whether or not I could get away with eating a week-old brownie (answer: emphatically no). I used my only good idea for my post on Lit Drift, the mega awesome literary blog that chose me as a new contributor for the site.

So, at my wit’s end, I went to LiveJournal, the veritable cesspool of ideas, information and curiously enthralling facts that it is.

Sifting through the writer’s block questions from days gone by, I found this query: “If you fall in love with a book or movie, do you tend to watch/read it again and again? If so, what’s your upper limit on repeats?”

I thought to myself, “Self, let’s answer this one!”

It just so happened that I was very near a copy of one of my favorite books, The Hero Of Ages, from Brandon Sanderson’s epically amazing Mistborn trilogy. I haven’t yet reread this one, but I do frequently reread books that I love, as well as re-watch awesome movies. I realized something interesting though, when thinking about this question. A lot of the things I love to watch/read make me really sad. Good examples include Lord of the Rings, Xena, Angel, and of course, Mistborn.

Tears are probably our purest form of connection to literature, music, movies, or any other type of media. But why do we love to cry? I think most people would agree that the best forms of art are the ones that hit you right in that soft spot. Whether we laugh with joy or sorrow, tears are a badge of honor to be conferred upon the highest quality of expression.

Does anyone else have a movie, book, song or limerick that they subject themselves to over and over again, releasing a new flood of tears every single time? I would love to know. I’m overdue for a good cry.

